Janet Cardiff’s Approach to Technology

December 6, 2008

In the House of Books Has No Windows (2008), the catalog that accompanies the exhibition by Janet Cardiff and George Bures Miller, the introduction chapter highlights this quote by Cardiff where she says: “I’m not interested in media for media’s sake.  I’m not interested in experimental electronic music or abstract sound art.  I’m interested in taking the technology, seeing what it can do, using it and manipulating it for conceptual reasons” (Cardiff, 2001).  I read this and thought – Yes.  This is exactly how I feel about technology.  I want to use it or work with it for conceptual reasons not for the sake of it alone or because it’s sexy or something.  Anyway.  What she said.

Comments are closed.

